Completing a Code of Practice record
Who is this article for?
Users responsible for completing Code of Practice records.
Edit access to the code of Practice record is required.
Once you have added a record, you will be taken to its page where you will need to complete all workflow stages relevant to the Code of Practice record.
Only one user should work on a Code of Practice record at a time to prevent data loss. If another user saves or submits the record while it is open, a warning will appear. The user must then refresh the record, losing their progress and needing to re-enter the information.
This article walks you through the process of completing a Code of Practice record.
Code of Practice
This is the first workflow stage of the Code of Practice record. It must be completed, saved, and submitted before the next workflow stage become accessible.
It consists of the following elements:
- Date: The Date the Record was opened will auto populate within this date field. However, it can be changed if needed by clicking into the calendar field and using the calendar to select the correct date.
-
Existing Contact/Visitor: Using the tick boxes, select: [Mandatory Field]
- Existing Contact if the person has already been added to Master Data, such as Employees or Service Suppliers.
- Visitor if the person is a once-off Visitor or won't be added to Master Data. -
Name: If you have selected: [Mandatory Field]
- Existing Contact: Select the Contact using the Master Data dropdown
- Visitor: Type in the Visitor Name using the Open Text Field
- Procedure: If a Document was selected within the Code of Practice Programme it will be placed here. The Document Name can be clicked to preview the Document on the screen.
-
Agreed?: The 'Code' Checklist added in the Programme will auto populate in the Record. This cannot be edited in the Record.
Note
If the Checklist needs to be edited, this must be done in Master Data. Changes to the Checklist will only be seen in newly added Records.
- Answer: By default, for all Checklist lines, 'Yes' will appear in the Answer field. However, this can be changed by clicking the field once to change to 'No'. Click on the field once again to change back to 'Yes'.
- Notes: Using the open text field, enter any notes for each of the Checklist lines.
-
Save: Click the 'Save' button to save the details you have entered so far to place the Record within the 'Actions' tab. Once saved, the Record will be assigned a sequential 'No.' and the status 'Open - Awaiting Code of Practice' will be detailed at the top of the Record. You can hit the 'Save' button as many times as needed until you are ready to finalise your Record, in which you then click the 'Save & Submit' button.
Important
If you do not click 'Save' or 'Save & Submit' at least once and move away from the Record, you will lose all the details entered and the Record will not be visible in any tab of the Code of Practice module, as it was never created as a Record.
- Save & Submit: Click the 'Save & Submit' button to save the Code of Practice workflow and move to the next workflow stage. If you choose to 'Save & Submit', the workflow stage will be closed, and you must click the 'Edit' button to re-enter the stage to make changes.
- Cancel: Click the 'Cancel' button if you wish to discard the changes made and move back to the Code of Practice module.
Close Out
When the Code of Practice workflow stage has been Saved and Submitted, the Close Out workflow stage will open.
This stage consists of the following elements:
-
Question: The 'Close Out' Checklist added in the Programme will auto populate in the Record. This cannot be edited in the Record.
Note
If the Checklist needs to be edited, this must be done in Master Data. Changes to the Checklist will only be seen in newly added Records.
- Answer: By default, for all Checklist lines, 'Yes' will appear in the Answer field. However, this can be changed by clicking the field once to change to 'No'. Click on the field once again to change back to 'Yes'.
- Notes: Using the open text field, enter any notes for each of the Checklist lines.
- Decision: Using the fixed system dropdown, select the Decision on the Employee or Visitor. [Mandatory Field]
- Justification: Using the open text field, enter the justification for the decision selected.
- Save: Click the 'Save' button to save the information added to the Close Out workflow stage. This will save the information added but not complete the Record. If you forget to click the 'Save' button before moving away from the Record, you will lose all the information entered. Ensure to click the 'Save' button to save your work and come back to it.
- Save & Submit: Click the 'Save Submit' button to save the Close Out workflow stage and complete the Record. As this is the final workflow stage, if you choose to 'Save Submit', the final workflow stage will be closed, and the Record will be moved from the 'Actions' tab to the 'Complete' tab. Going forward, you must click the 'Edit' button to re-enter the stage to make any changes. Once the Record has been moved to the 'Complete' tab, it cannot be moved back to the 'Actions' tab.
- Cancel: Click the 'Cancel' button to discard any details added and move back to the Code of Practice module.